Register now to get rid of these ads!

Air ride pros, I need your help!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Beef Stew, Jan 4, 2012.

1. Beef Stew

Beef Stew
    from So Cal

I made the (possibly bad) decision to try and use air sleeves on the back of my Model A tudor sedan. No compressor, no tank, just a static setup. I thought it'd be a good idea (this is my first time doing air ride and actually my first time building a car) but now that I've actually tested the sleeves on the car I'm not so sure. I'm using a two link with panhard bar similar to the nascar truck arm setup and the sleeves are mounted immediately ahead of the rear axle.

I have two different pairs of Air Lift sleeves - one short pair and one longer pair. With the longer sleeves (4.5" diameter) installed the problem is this: it only takes 30-35 psi of pressure to get the car up to desired ride height but at this height the sleeve is entirely too springy. If I fill the sleeves to get the back end up 2-3" and then sit on the rear cross member that's right over the axle I can actually get the frame to bottom out on the frame. If I stand up the car goes up a couple inches, sit down and the car goes down. If I lean on one side of the car it wants to flop over. Basically, the sleeve is entirely too soft and even if I bump the pressure up to 45-50 psi the spring is still too soft plus the car is now at double the desired ride height.

If I use the shorter sleeves (4.0" sleeve) and take them to max extension the spring rate actually "feels" good and the car doesn't flop around as bad. But having the sleeve at max extension is obviously no good.

Some questions and observations...

First, is my car potentially too light for air bags? It's only a body, frame, and engine/trans now. The engine/trans is all aluminum and weighs less than 350 lbs. No interior, fuel tank, battery, etc., in the car yet.