Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs Aftermarket gauge add on location

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 1LIFE2LIVE, Mar 11, 2018.

  1. 1LIFE2LIVE
    Joined: Oct 20, 2006
    Posts: 422

    1LIFE2LIVE
    Member

    Have a 65 Buick that I want to change up my interior on a bit. I made a center console some years back to hold a radio, cup holders, speakers, and a three gauge set (oil, water, volts). I’m planning on getting rid of the console for a cleaner look but don’t know what I want to do with the gauges. Looking for some custom ideas or clean setups to mount them or do I just go back to the dummy lights and forget the gauges?



    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  2. You have four choices; under the dash, in the dash, on top of the dash, and just in front of the windshield (but that's a race car thing). Don't know what your dash looks like...
     
  3. mgtstumpy
    Joined: Jul 20, 2006
    Posts: 8,687

    mgtstumpy
    Member

    Under dash at bottom of dash rail would look period correct?
    [​IMG]
     
    mad mikey likes this.
  4. 1LIFE2LIVE
    Joined: Oct 20, 2006
    Posts: 422

    1LIFE2LIVE
    Member

    I’m aware of the typical locations and bracket. Was just looking for something different I guess. Was hoping someone had thought of something a little cleaner and less of an add on look.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     

  5. chevy57dude
    Joined: Dec 10, 2007
    Posts: 6,166

    chevy57dude
    Member

    Finksburg, eh? My inlaws live on Sandymount rd. Gas is cheaper there than most areas close to you, I fill up there before crossing back into PA.
    How about a vintage afterm[​IMG]arket heater with the flip open doors to hide the gauges?
     
    mad mikey and lothiandon1940 like this.
  6. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 47,996

    squirrel
    Member

    What do you use the gauges for? how often do you look at them? Do the original idiot lights work?

    I would probably just not use the gauges, unless you have issues such as occasional overheating that you are concerned about...and then, I'd just install the guage(s) that you really need. I know it's traditional to install a few add on gauges in a car, but that doesn't mean you HAVE to do it.

    Under the dash is the least obtrusive place, yet also the hardest to see. If it's a race car, you put them where you can see them, and don't worry about it.
     
    mad mikey likes this.
  7. Personal preference is always my rule. I’m a bit anal about looking at mine. Doing it how you personally like is “ traditional “ in my book.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    mad mikey likes this.
  8. If you race you want them in your face. If you do not check them much, use the (functioning ) lights.;)
     
    olscrounger likes this.
  9. choppedtudor
    Joined: Nov 28, 2009
    Posts: 682

    choppedtudor
    Member

    Here's where I put mine...lol gauges.JPG
     
    Flathead Dave and mad mikey like this.
  10. AngleDrive
    Joined: Mar 9, 2006
    Posts: 914

    AngleDrive
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Florida

    I'm with Jim. Stuff them in glove box and install some idiot lights. Looks a lot cleaner.
     
    olscrounger and Elcohaulic like this.
  11. Flathead Dave
    Joined: Mar 21, 2014
    Posts: 3,235

    Flathead Dave
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from So. Cal.

    If you're kidding around or not, it does look good.
     
    mad mikey likes this.
  12. olscrounger
    Joined: Feb 23, 2008
    Posts: 4,124

    olscrounger
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Had a friend with a nice 56 and a stout running 327. He drove it evetywhere with no problems. He decided to put gauges in a panel under the dash but left the lights and had a stock temp gauge that registered just above the middle mark. After that every time it would hit near 200 degrees he would panic and call me. Told him to put tape over it and keep driving it as he had been, He did for a while and finally ignored the gauge.
     
    Elcohaulic and lothiandon1940 like this.
  13. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 47,996

    squirrel
    Member

    I had the stock temp gauge in my 55, as long as it was below H it would not boil....and I didn't really want to know what the numbers were. I put an awful lot of miles on the car, never lost a head gasket or anything. (blown 454)
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.