Register now to get rid of these ads!

Advice on getting a job if I move to the States

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 300ed, Mar 19, 2012.

1. 300ed

300ed
    from UK

Hi guys,

Hope some of you can give me a bit of advice.

I currently work in a shop in the UK building and preparing circuit racing, hillclimb and sprint cars. Mainly old TVRs, Lotus etc. These aren't really my sort of car but it's good experience.

Bit bored of things here so I'm considering, work visa permitting, moving to the States and trying to find a job in a hot rod/resto shop.

I've got a good wide range of skills, from engine building to MIG welding and fabrication, and only work older carb n points type cars. Not a paintwork guy really, but I have done it.

Where do you suggest is best place to look for such a job? Would a shop be prepared to take someone on with a work visa? I'm pretty much open to any suggestions or advice.

Are there many jobs in the resto/hot rod industry right now?

Thanks in advance...

2. Don't you have to have a job to get the Visa?
    PM Big A.

3. jmpowie

jmpowie

just go on umeployment like everyone else.

4. 40StudeDude

40StudeDude

Not much help here but I'd suggest the west coast or around the Phoenix area...there are rod shops and builders all over the US...depends on what type of weather you are looking for (if you need England type weather)...

I'd start by looking up rod shops and the like on the internet and firing off some sort of resume listing your experiences...I'm not sure every rod shop around would want a "resume", but it'd be good to list your skills...

R-

5. indyjps

indyjps

You definately need to have your paperwork in order, consider the shop owner has likely never dealt with a legal work permit. So know whats required and line up a job prior to coming to the states.
    consider north or south carolina where all the nascar shops are located.