Register now to get rid of these ads!

advice on a first build?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by tylerbrasher, Dec 24, 2010.

1. tylerbrasher

tylerbrasher

so i have no car. well besides the 02 mustang. but that doesnt count here im sure. haha. im really interested in getting a nice old 49-54 chevy! as a total newbie with no welding skills, very little experience with engines or trans or basically any major mechanical stuff like steering or suspension, would this be something that is very possible? im thinking maybe i could run across a good old beater that runs and drives, but a lot of the cars that i could actually afford dont run. most of em seem to have engines in em though. how hard are these old chevys to get running and driving? like what is the usual drag-it-from-the-field to got-it-running process for these cars? what do you guys usually have to get done during this stage of the cars rebuild?

oh my dad and granddad could help a little.. but probably wouldnt be too happy about tearing down an engine. cleaning up a carb is one thing..

2. Dynaflash_8

Dynaflash_8
    from Auburn WA

READ READ READ READ READ

Learn as much as you can about everything.

I find its best to become an expert on the car your working on.

3. tylerbrasher

tylerbrasher

ha ive been reading on here like crazy. checking out builds and everything. im not sure i could tackle getting one running from the ground up. im sure i could but id have the parents worrying themselves to death that id be wasting my money haha sucky part about being a broke college kid living at home.

4. dimebag

dimebag
    from Joliet, il

Well I was about to offer you my car for sale, new motor, new wiring, new clutch, etc... but if you are a broke college student-it might be a little rich fer yer blood:)

5. Dynaflash_8

Dynaflash_8
    from Auburn WA

hey man, im a broke college kid living at home as well. Turn 20 on the 1st.