Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Adjusting camber and castor

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by vtx1800, Apr 24, 2014.

1. vtx1800

vtx1800
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

This is my first attempt at setting the camber and castor in 69 years:) It appears that I need some sort of tool to separately pull each side on the upper A-frame. I have started fabricating one but, maybe there is a simple way to do it that I am unaware of.
    This is a chassis engineering crossmember with Mustang II parts.
    Thanks

Attached Files:

2. stimpy

stimpy

actually they make the tools, OTC sells them ( #7010 - #7091 ) , mac sold them too # cc 624 you can find them on e pay every now and then ,

3. vtx1800

vtx1800
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

The original tools (Mac cc624 for example) require a hole in the frame which isn't there because the configuration is different. The OTC tools (at least with my feeble mechanical skills) have nothing to "pin" to that I can see.
    Thanks for your assistance, appreciate your taking the time to help!!

4. George/Maine

George/Maine

If you take the weight off wheel you can move little at time and tighten.
    Same amount on each side brings wheel out camber.
    What I look for is the top ball joint back little same 1/4" for caster and using a level on wheel vert with weight on car. Then do tie in.

5. You can always drill a 1/4" or 5/16" hole behind each slot.

If you aren't familiar with the adjustment, scribe some lines behind the arm so if the arm slips, you can find your way back to being close to where you were.

This is one of those best done on swivel plates with gauges expecially if you have to touch the caster again.

Bob

6. vtx1800

vtx1800
    ALLIANCE MEMBER