Register now to get rid of these ads!

Adapting A Magneto to a small engine

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by LarzBahrs, Oct 10, 2009.

1. LarzBahrs

LarzBahrs
    from Sacramento

I found an old magneto on this industiral single cylinder and i was thinking about adapting it to fit on a kohler engine i have becuase the kohler is an off board mag. The industrial engine mag runs of the fly wheel. What types of things would need to be addressed and looked over to set the timing right on it? Fly wheel size? Im sorry for such a novice question. Im just really a tinkerer at this point in time. Thanks for any help in advance!:D

2. llonning

llonning

If you are saying what I think you are;

Does the Kohler have an automotive type coil on it?

What did the magneto come off of?

This is just to start with.

3. LarzBahrs

LarzBahrs
    from Sacramento

Ill post some pictures in a sec, sorry for the off the wall descriptions. Im not good at some terminology.

4. LarzBahrs

LarzBahrs
    from Sacramento

Here the kohler engine
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG] Heres the magneto, kinda rusty on the gear but the inards are clean!

Heres the engine the mag came off of.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

5. LarzBahrs

LarzBahrs
    from Sacramento

just posted pictures any advice?

6. llonning

llonning

This would take a lot of machine work. The magnetos used for the Kohler were usually mounted by the flywheel. The industrial engine looks to be an even earlier Kohler. I have seen those mounted on pumper trucks like for the fire departments.

This conversion is something that I wouldn't want to try myself. Too much adapting involved, IF it could even be done.

The first thing you would have to determine is the timing for the spark, after you figured out how to mount the mag.

I work on small engines for a living and I would tell someone that wanted me to do the same thing that I wouldn't even try. Too much of a headache to try to convert it.

7. llonning

llonning