Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical AC system dryer question

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by AGELE55, Jul 9, 2021.

1. AGELE55

AGELE55

I'm currently upgrading the AC in my 55 Chevy. I need a new dryer. I see some dryers have a Schrader valve. Would this valve become the high pressure side connection for testing? I already have a high side schrader so just double checking it would provide no additional function.
    Ps- I am NOT an AC proficient kind of guy..

2. tim troutman

tim troutman

Schrader on the drier would be for a switch highside bianary or trianery to make the compressor cycle or a fan come on if to high pressure or if no Freon keep the compressor from running

ottoman, AGELE55 and egads like this.
  3. AGELE55

AGELE55

So... In essence..is it needed? My old system did not have one.

4. onetrickpony

onetrickpony
    from Texas

It's not necessary if you have one somewhere else and don't need a pressure switch.

firstinsteele likes this.

5. Ziggster

Ziggster

Every AC system requires a high-pressure switch to cycle the compressor off for safety reasons in addition to a pressure relief valve. If you have none mounted (switch) on the compressor discharge fitting, or high-pressure side of the system already, you’ll need a port on the filter/drier. This is assuming you have a liquid type filter/drier and not the GM low-side (vapour) style accumulator (filter/drier).

Desoto291Hemi likes this.
  6. AGELE55

AGELE55

The 55 will be running an R4 compressor, as it has for the past 20 years. It never had high or low pressure switches and ran fine until it simply wore itself out.
    If I need to add these switches, now's the time to do it I guess .
    I'm looking on line and see the R4 compressor accepts a high pressure switch right into the backside. Easy nuff.
    As for a.low pressure switch, I guess I can add one into anyplace along the low pressure line?

7. onetrickpony

onetrickpony
    from Texas