Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects Aarons 29 AV8 coupe build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Aaron D., Jul 27, 2016.

1. Aaron D.

Aaron D.

I have been collecting parts for around 10 months or so. I finally came across a body and frame that is in pretty good shape, so now I have enough parts to actually start working on the project. My plan is a traditional style build with the Bishop/Tardel books as a guide. I have an 8BA that needs some work, a 39 Ford sedan as a donor car for the rear banjo, radius rods, toque tube, transmission, steering shaft, and front spindles. It also has an 8BA in it, but I doubt its any good. The guy I bought the car from said it has a 3/4 cam and 4" crank, but that's yet to be confirmed. I've also collected an F1 steering box, F1 front brakes, 1935 wire wheels, Stewart Warner gauges, tach and speedo, F1 cross member and pedals.
    The 29 Coupe body is in pretty good shape and came with all the fenders, hood, deck lid, grill shell and headlights. I don't plan on running fenders but it's nice to have that option. It also came with a nice leather covered front seat and rumble seat with matching door panels, all of which are usable and have that old hot rod feel to them.
    image1.JPG image2.JPG image3.JPG image4.JPG
    So far I have reversed the eye on the rear spring and removed 3 leafs, the spring had 11 when I started. I have also fixed the crease in the left lower cowl panel and firewall. I'm now working my way around replacing old Bondo repairs with metal patch panels. I'll start posting more pics as the work progresses. I hope you enjoy the build.
    Aaron

2. brokenspoke

brokenspoke

3. waxhead

waxhead
    from West Oz

Looks like a good start, and you already have most of the parts to get this finished.

4. Good project, enjoy.

5. Aaron D.

Aaron D.