Register now to get rid of these ads!

A week of sanding and all I got was this 'lousy' paintjob...

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Mel, Jul 4, 2004.

1. Mel

Mel

Last fall I painted the roof and fins on my dodge with walmart spraypaint... yeah, it looked ok for $10, but she needed a little sparkle to off-set all that chrome, and the can-o-sprayglitter just wasn't going to cut it.

So last week I hung out in Bugmans shop, pulling out the bigger dents in my roof and mixing up a sparkly concoction of miscellaneous red pearls. This paint job isn't perfect, but then I've never used a real paintgun before, so I think it's really decent for a first time.... especially for pearl on a roof. Bugman was my savior... keeping me sane all week and helping out when the paint was a bit uneven...

All that's left to do is the black.... that's still the original paint you see in the pics.... soon to be satin black.

Here's a pic of the roof with the spraypaint on it...

2. Mel

Mel

3. Mel

Mel

in action

4. Mel

Mel

2 layers of red primer, and we still ended up priming one more time with grey.

5. Mel

Mel

Yep, we used all that paint.... I think some of it may have been from the 80's... [​IMG]

6. QQMOON

QQMOON

Good on ya Mel
    JR

7. Mel

Mel

our paint booth [​IMG]

8. Mel

Mel

finished!

9. Mel

Mel

better in the sun

10. Mel

Mel

sparkle sparkle...

11. CAS

CAS

Looks AWESOME, Mel.
    Doesn't it feel good to lay down some fresh paint?

12. Zeke

Zeke

Shit that looks great for a virgin. Hell that gives me hope when I get the Stude ready for paint that I could do it myself.

13. It looks great Mel. I can only hope that mine turns out that well.

14. Fat Hack

Fat Hack
    from Detroit

Great Job!! Can't wait to see the whole car painted...gonna be SWEET!! [​IMG]

15. Ooooooooohh, that looks purrrrrrty, Mel. Good job! You'll be lookin' so cool. [​IMG]

16. Slag Kustom

Slag Kustom

looks great for your first time

17. SanDiegoJoe

SanDiegoJoe