Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical A few dual point questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flypa38, Nov 5, 2016.

1. flypa38

flypa38

Hey fellas, I have a few dual point distributor questions.
    I've been running a Mallory dual point in my 56 Pontiac for a few years now with no problems, but it's starting to hint at some issues. There's a real slight miss at idle and almost feels like a little bit of a miss on the highway. So far all I've done is clean the points, cap and rotor and change spark plugs. It's a Mallory 2558001 mechanical advance by the way.
    One set of points looked pretty good. The other set, the contacts are misaligned vertically. How do I adjust that?
    Wanted to lube things up while it's open. What should I use? I have some good dielectric grease that we use here at work on the jets. Would that work? How much and where all should I put it? Is dielectric grease ok for where the plug wires exit the cap and the plug ends too, or should I be using something else?
    was looking into new points, rotor, and condenser and found a few kits. Mallory part number 25402 (I think) is listed as the points part number. Also listed is 25402X, a "high performance" points set. What is the difference? The kit I was looking at says "good"......does that mean poor quality? It's Mallory parts, but about 1/3 of the price as the other kits. Regarding the condensor, does it need to be the Mallory one?
    Also, can't remember how I set this thing up. The tech sheet says 26° dwell each set of points, and 29° overall. How do I measure each and overall? As far as advance goes, how much should there be total and is there a way to measure that and the curve without a distributor machine? Total advance is adjustable on this distributor, and adjusting the curve requires new springs.
    Sorry for all the rookie questions! Thankfully it's been running great long enough that I can't remember how to maintain and set the thing up!