Register now to get rid of these ads!

Art & Inspiration A different kind of project. A book!

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by chrisman, May 23, 2011.

1. chrisman

chrisman

I work as a photographer, doing a lot of corporate portraiture, annual reports, b2b magazine features, that kinda stuff. I love my job, the creativity and the freedom of being self employed, but after working for others for so many years I felt that it would be fun to do something completely selfish. After some thinking I set out to make a story about land speed racing on El Mirage, and my hopes was to be able to sell the story when I got back to Sweden. This was back in 2004.

I posted my plans here on the HAMB, and Tom Branch got back to me and told me I could tag along with the Immortals to the lakebed as they would be racing there. This would be the two-day season finale in november. With that sort of support I dared to take the leap, so off I went and bought a flight ticket, got me a decent hotel and a rental car.

Shortly before I was supposed to go I heard some rumors of bad weather in the L.A. area. The storms had flooded the lakebed so all racing was most likely to be cancelled. BAD NEWS! What to do? Everything was already paid for, so off I went anyway. I hoped for a good vacation in a city I had never visited before, and I packed as much camera gear I could carry.

The day after I landed I met up with Tom, his wife Diana and Thomas jr. I think he felt a bit sorry for me as I had traveled so far without getting the chance to get to see El Mirage. In return he took me to Bob's Big Boy in Toluca Lake, to Donut Derelicts, to an informal hot rod meet just by West Coast Customs in Long Beach, and to a barbecue at Fabian's place in Yucaipa. On his day off he took me on the grand hot rod shop tour all over Orange and L.A. That's the kind of guy he is. I had the time of my life.