Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 8ba help

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Born-2-Late, Feb 25, 2016.

1. Born-2-Late

Born-2-Late

Ok I'm a noob hoping I haven't done something seriously wrong. I my flathead was leaking water from left rear head I pulled it disassembled it hat the machine shop clean and check it the block had apparently shaved and wasn't level the old man said he would try to true it up and he did he said I would be OK if I didn't have shaved heads. I went threw 6 sets of heads before we had a set that wasn't cracked warped or shaved. (I have stock heads from a truck) bored it 60 over I then built the engine with everything new minus rods and I had a standard crank I turned 10/10 new everything else have a isky 88 full race cam manly valves with all guides retainers clips new have isky springs Rodgers adjustible lifters and reds headers currently running stock distributer with petronics installed and a offy intake with 600 edelbrock 4 barrel (changing both soon was just something I already had at the time) oil pump all gears and timing chain are new water pumps are new style etc hooked up the new aluminum radiator and cranked it in the floor to do the cam break in and make sure all was good she run like a dream. Installed in the car drove to get my smithy mufflers installed picked it up sounds great drove home when I got home all seemed well I asked me dad to take it up the road so I could hear it from a spectators point of view. He only drove a out a country block came back I heard a knocking he pulled in cut it off I said crank it back up it seemed to be gone I reved it up a little held it there and let off as it came to idle it was back it was a fairly slow fairly deep distinct knock reed it up and it went away dropped to idle was back cut off the car waited maybe 2 min cranked it and it wasn't there but about 15sec later it came back kinda quieter and spuratic at first them it got back into rythem yet still a litt