Register now to get rid of these ads!

8BA Flathead Noise

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 49 Custom, Jul 11, 2009.

1. 49 Custom

49 Custom

Hi All,

So... I've had my '49 back from the mechanic a while now and have just got around to rewiring, installing an exhaust, and upgrading to a MSD ignition system. When I fire up the engine, I hear a clacking sound from the passenger side head near the water outlet (number one cylinder). I did a timing light test and it appears to stay in tempo with the light (though slightly off from the flash) and putting a piece of wood to the engine definitely helped localize the sound.

So I'm guessing I've got some kind of valve train issue. My question: since I'm a novice, is there anyone in the CA. SF south bay that may be able to help me sort it out? Or, does anyone have a recommendation of a shop in the San Jose area that they would trust with their flathead?

After reading a lot of threads on this subject, I know its pretty much impossible to diagnose a problem via internet, so I figured I'd skip that step and move on to finding an experienced local.

Thanks!

-Stefan

2. Casey

Casey
    Member Emeritus

It sounds like a lose valve to me . pull the intake and check the clearance again on all the valves

3. Bruce Lancaster

Bruce Lancaster
    Member Emeritus

A novice can remove a couple of rows of bolts and yank the manifold carefully without getting into anything complicated...give it a try. Betcha a nickel you simply have an adjustable lifter whose adjustment has gone walkabout. If so, you can diagnose it by eyeball, and we can walk you through the fixxit for the price of a tube of Loctite and a Sears feeler gauge.
    Either that, or vaporlock from a ruptured power valve has cracked your block and blown your gasket, and you need to swap in an LS-10 with digital fanbelts to get away from all that evil old junk.

4. srosa707

srosa707
    from Sacramento

hahahah smartass!

5. RAY With

RAY With