Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 700r4 question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by flatmotor40, Feb 28, 2015.

  1. flatmotor40
    Joined: Apr 14, 2010
    Posts: 516

    flatmotor40
    Member
    from georgia

    Has anyone ran a 700r4 without any wiring to make the converter lockup.Just picked up my 700 for the 2nd time out since Nov 8.And he said do not wire for lockup converter to 4th gear as I took all the wiring out and the trans will do it on its on.Any trans rebuilder out here that can chime in on this.Took pan off to put drain plug in and the od solonid has no wires at all.He has put 2 different valve bodys in and still no good shifting.Need all the help I can get.He said put it in an drive it and adjust the Lokar cable to get shift right.Thanks for all the help I can get
     
  2. My guy built one for me with a manual lock up valve body & converter. No wiring switches needed. The TV cable will control your shift points and can be adjusted accordingly. You can also change the weights & springs on the governor gear to fine tune the shift points. Is it not shifting at all ?
     
  3. For starters you want the TV cable all the way out while the throttle is all the way to the floor. You can adjust the tv cable 1 or 2 clicks at a time until it feels good. Keep the test drives short until it's adjusted properly.
     
  4. 48FordFanatic
    Joined: Feb 26, 2011
    Posts: 1,336

    48FordFanatic
    Member
    from Maine

    Please tell us more about the no wires manual lockup valve body.
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. hdman6465
    Joined: Jul 5, 2009
    Posts: 642

    hdman6465
    Member

    That is only on the real early 700s, I believe.
     
  6. saltflats
    Joined: Aug 14, 2007
    Posts: 9,644

    saltflats
    Member
    from Missouri

    If the tranny has a converter shift valve it can be set up with no elc. Some valve bodies have a plug in that hole that you can install the converter shift valve in and make them work the same way. Then the later models stopped having the hole in the valve body.
     
  7. 1930 A
    Joined: Apr 8, 2006
    Posts: 127

    1930 A
    Member

    If you have an early valvebody (pre 86) it should have a convertor valve in it. You can put a 5/16 checkball in the lockup solenoid and the convertor should lockup when the valve moves. Only problem is it will not unlock until you slow down enough for the valve to go into the unlock position or the trans downshifts.
     
  8. 3quarter32
    Joined: Dec 10, 2010
    Posts: 292

    3quarter32
    Member

    I am running second generation with no wires. Works fine. Make sure the tv cable is correct.
     
  9. Jalopy Joker
    Joined: Sep 3, 2006
    Posts: 23,711

    Jalopy Joker
    Member

  10. flatmotor40
    Joined: Apr 14, 2010
    Posts: 516

    flatmotor40
    Member
    from georgia

    Thanks I thought he was pulling my leg again.Before it would not go in OD then change valve body and it would not shift down without bucking all over the road.Having a time with him
     
  11. JOECOOL
    Joined: Jan 13, 2004
    Posts: 2,742

    JOECOOL
    Member

    Thanks Joker ,that was an interesting read.
     
  12. fergusonic
    Joined: Nov 11, 2007
    Posts: 218

    fergusonic
    Member
    from Kokomo, In

    And be sure that the "geometry" is correct on the carb linkage. (TV Cable install)
     
  13. flatmotor40
    Joined: Apr 14, 2010
    Posts: 516

    flatmotor40
    Member
    from georgia

    Thanks.Will install it and if it is bad will take it him for the last time and last him fix it.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.