Register now to get rid of these ads!

6v conversion

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by il Revrunde, Sep 13, 2006.

1. il Revrunde

il Revrunde

ok ok.....i admit i'm new to this.....i've never done one so i have a couple questions.
    1. is the conversion guide that speedway motors sells worth a damn?
    2. how hard is it really, considering i want to use an aftermarket 3 guage cluster?
    3. 1 wire gm alt. or standard?
    and
    4. will my 6 volt starter and distributor be able to handle the 12 volts(and i do know i'll need a 12 volt coil)
    any and all info is welcome and appreciated.
    i am no expert and i just want my baby to be as reliable as the next guy...otherwise i wouldn't have installed seat belts....hahaha
    thanks

2. 51 MERC-CT

51 MERC-CT

Quiz answers:
    I. Don't know, never read it.
    II. Not hard, really.
    III. 1 wire GM.
    IIII. Yes.
    :) :D Ha Ha

3. il Revrunde

il Revrunde

4. il Revrunde

il Revrunde

just incase i need to reiterate
    nobody is to get offended....
    i'm a jackass and if i intend to piss you off you'll know
    i appreciate everything y'all do for me
    :rolleyes:

5. My 2c.
    The guage cluster should be the same as any other car, except you didn't mention what guages you were using.

My understanding of the 1 wire alternator is that it will not produce 12 volts at idle. It works more like a generator if you will.

I have never put 12 volts to a 6 volt starter, but I have put 12 volts to a 6 volt wiper motor (VW) it basacally ran twice as fast as with 6 volts. Doing this may burn up the starter.

6. sinner13

sinner13
    from Buffalo NY

Your starter should be fine, however if you continuous crank, it is possible that your solenoid may smoke. I have had no problems running 12v with my stock 6v starter.
    Your distributor and points will be fine also, there pretty beefy....and seem to handle 12v pretty good.

Read this over : http://www.oldengine.org/unfaq/six12.htm