Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 62 Ranchero Build

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by raytrent, Jul 28, 2016.

1. raytrent

raytrent

I have a 62 Ranchero that I've replaced the front end with a MII crossmember and related parts, I've fabricated the floor boards and a new transmission tunnel, I've adapted bucket seats from a donor car, I've rebuilt a 1988 5.0 and connected it to a C6. I've never done fabrication work before, but with the help of Jerry McReath, I'm learning.
    On to the problem, the motor turns fine sitting on the floor with a tool on the flexplate. Snug like a new motor should be with no resistance on a whole revolution. I bolted the C6 to the motor, outside the car (was able to reach and tighten 2 torque converter bolts), put the motor and the tranny in the car, bolted on a new Autozone/Duracraft starter to bump the motor over and get to the other torque converter bolts; well, the motor won't turn over with the starter. It acts like it's too hard for the starter to move. I am hotwiring straight to a battery and have even had a battery charger on the battery at the same time. Tried a breaker bar on the harmonic balancer bolt, but did not want to tighten it too much beyond the torque limit. Is there any way that I'm not considering to turn this motor over without removing it from the car, separating the motor from the tranny and using the tool on the flexplate? Any suggestions? Motor turned over fine every step of reassembly and also turned over before I connected the tranny and installed it. I've thought of taking the battery out of my diesel and trying it. More starting power. Its been suggested to cut a hole in my C6 and using the flexplate tool to rotate it. I prefer not doing that. Help please!

2. King ford

King ford
    from 08302