Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 59AB Stuck Valve question

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Ryan Turk, Apr 3, 2021.

1. Ryan Turk

Ryan Turk
    from Austin, TX

Hello everyone, new here. I am a longtime air-cooled VW person and traditional Ford hot rod dreamer.

I've got a running-when-crated 59AB and was doing some cleanup and saw what appears to be a stuck valve. (Pics attached). I could use some confirmation on my first steps here and any 'gotchas' as I'm completely new to these engines:

I was just going to put some Mystery Oil on the spring and into the cylinder. Maybe buy a pickle fork and cycle it with that?

Attached Files:

dana barlow likes this.
  2. flatford39

flatford39

Adjustable lifters and a pretty clean valley for a flathead. You are on the right track. You need to get the MMO to penetrate the valve guides and it should free up.

Bill Whitehurst and dana barlow like this.
  3. rusty valley

rusty valley

With the head still on, I have been able to go in the spark plug hole with an allen wrench and tap the valve down.Oil it up, trying to squirt under the valve and onto the stem. Try to hit the valve center, not too violent, dont want to bend it

302GMC and flatford39 like this.
  4. Most of the flatheads I have bought in car or out had a stuck valve. It's an assembly and if the suggestions don't free it up it might be time to pull a head and pull out the stuck valve. There are little keepers that keep the assembly in the motor - you can buy a fork like pry bar from one of the parts suppliers to help removal. At this point with the stuck assembly out - you can still soak it a little more to see if it will free up. . As cheap as the NOS parts are I've always just buy the NOS parts for a new assembly and have had good luck. Good luck with yours !

5. Aaron D.

Aaron D.