Register now to get rid of these ads!

59ab flathead question???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by fnjunk, Aug 25, 2013.

  1. fnjunk
    Joined: Jan 8, 2008
    Posts: 358

    fnjunk
    Member
    from Australia

    Just a quick one for you flathead experts I have a 59 ab flatty that was running a remote oil filter fed from the drivers side rear of the block and draining back near the dip stick.
    Can I block these off and run the engine without the filter or are these a must have?
    Thanks guys
     
  2. model.A.keith
    Joined: Mar 19, 2007
    Posts: 6,279

    model.A.keith
    Member

    I run my 8BA without a filter, just change the oil a bit more often.......;)





    k
     
  3. fnjunk
    Joined: Jan 8, 2008
    Posts: 358

    fnjunk
    Member
    from Australia

    Thanks Model.A.Keith I was a little worried I might block oil circulation if I didn't run one.
     
  4. 51custom
    Joined: Feb 15, 2011
    Posts: 102

    51custom
    Member

    ^^^^^^^^ What he said....
    Jim
     

  5. DICK SPADARO
    Joined: Jun 6, 2005
    Posts: 1,887

    DICK SPADARO
    Member Emeritus

    Filter not necessary, two pipe plugs do the trick, dont crack the die cast oilpan dip stick mount.
     
  6. Merc cruzer
    Joined: Feb 26, 2009
    Posts: 276

    Merc cruzer
    Member
    from Colorado

    Oil filters were an option on many of the early flatheads.
     
  7. flatcrazy
    Joined: Apr 12, 2007
    Posts: 78

    flatcrazy
    Member

    Just keep the oil changed regularly. I don't run a filter.
     
  8. fnjunk
    Joined: Jan 8, 2008
    Posts: 358

    fnjunk
    Member
    from Australia

    Thanks guys are there any exceptions?
    Only asking as a couple of guys have pm'd me tell me other wise and I'm a little gun shy /confused ???


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  9. Thaplumbr
    Joined: May 7, 2012
    Posts: 119

    Thaplumbr
    Member

    I'm running a 59ab flatty in my 48 F-1, plugged the return to the drain pan,and the port on the drivers side rear beneath the sending unit no problems at all!
     
  10. Dad's 1932
    Joined: Dec 3, 2009
    Posts: 203

    Dad's 1932
    Member
    from Santa Rosa

    Post a picture of how it is plumbed . Mostly the back of the block .
     
  11. fnjunk
    Joined: Jan 8, 2008
    Posts: 358

    fnjunk
    Member
    from Australia

    Ok Dads 32 will do when I get home tonight.
    Thanks


    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     
  12. 40FordGuy
    Joined: Mar 24, 2008
    Posts: 2,907

    40FordGuy
    Member

    Just plug the two ports, as said above; Works great !

    4TTRUK
     
  13. Christom
    Joined: Nov 3, 2011
    Posts: 217

    Christom
    Member

    Most old Ford set-ups are only bypass filters anyway - not full flow. Just keep the oil clean and check for crap in it when you change it. A magnetic drain plug is always a good option too.
     
  14. fnjunk
    Joined: Jan 8, 2008
    Posts: 358

    fnjunk
    Member
    from Australia

    Thanks guys for all the help.
     
  15. BDogCstms
    Joined: Jan 7, 2013
    Posts: 8

    BDogCstms
    BANNED

    Magnetic Drain plug, change oil very frequently, no problems. Remember oil is cheap compared to the consequences.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.