Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 55 Bel air 265 v8 vacuum Problem

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Angel3994, Mar 24, 2020.

  1. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

    Hello guys I need a little info here on how to connect a th350 vacuum hose to a 265. The intake has no vacuum ports I can see with the only available one being the one that comes out the back of the carb(Rochester 2 jet) and is already connected to the engine which is also t off to the vacuum advance on the distributer. Any help is greatly appreciated im still kinda new at this.
     
  2. 56sedandelivery
    Joined: Nov 21, 2006
    Posts: 6,292

    56sedandelivery
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Do you have the starter motor adapter that allows the modern transmissions to b e used with the 55-56, 265's? Some guys realize too late there's no way for a block mounted starter, and are't aware of the starter motor adapter plate. As far as your vacuum pickup goes, the carb base should be fine. I am Butch/56sedandelivery.
     
    Deuces likes this.
  3. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 46,694

    squirrel
    Member

    big duece, Baumi, 427 sleeper and 2 others like this.
  4. Connected to the engine and "T" to the distributer??? Why is a vacuum line connected to the engine? Pictures?

    Agree with squirrel, you could drill out one of the rear carburetor stud holes into the intake runner. Then modify a bolt (drill through) so it will clamp the carb and attach a vacuum hose.
     

  5. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

  6. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

    I will upload a picture later today to get a better look and thank you for your advice!
     
    Deuces likes this.
  7. ididntdoit1960
    Joined: Dec 13, 2011
    Posts: 990

    ididntdoit1960
    Member
    from Western MA

    Make sure the hole is not "blind" first
     
    427 sleeper, squirrel and Deuces like this.
  8. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

    this is the setup which im sure is not how it's done so the line on the left goes to the engine which i believe might be the pcv valve because there is no road draft tube(2nd pic shows where its connected). The one in the middle is for the trans and the small one on the far right goes to the distributor.
    20200325_181328.jpg 20200325_181950.jpg 20200325_183252.jpg
     
  9. kustomkat
    Joined: Sep 4, 2006
    Posts: 554

    kustomkat
    Member

    Not a complete know at all, but it is my experience that a true 55 265 block and some 56 had NO provision for an oil filter. It was an optional external accessory mounted above the intake manifold. It doesn't really affect you vacuum question but I do have a complete drive train from an untouched 55 I parted. Those motor is on a stand and I may be able get you photos.
     
  10. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

    that would help alot thank you! the original engine was swapped out at some point but i assumed it to be a 55 265 but im not 100%.
     
  11. jaracer
    Joined: Oct 4, 2008
    Posts: 428

    jaracer
    Member

    The 350 transmission needs full manifold vacuum to the modulator. In your picture I see a PCV valve with 2 lines going somewhere. There is also a plug in the fitting at the base of the carb. This would have manifold vacuum at all times and you could add a fitting in place of the plug and run a line to the modulator.

    The 350 transmission used manifold vacuum to determine shift points and operating pressures. High vacuum equates to low load so you have early, soft shifts. Low vacuum equates to high load and you have later, harsher shifts. The transmission tailors shift points and operating pressure to engine load.
     
    ted kovacs likes this.
  12. Angel3994
    Joined: Nov 22, 2017
    Posts: 9

    Angel3994

    i was actually having that problem with the transmission not shifting from 1st gear but if i gave it enough gas eventually it would shift. The pcv valve, trans modulator, and the vacuum advance are all connected at the base of the carb since there is only one vacuum port at the moment. Not even the carb has additional vacuum ports. I was even beginning to wonder if i could get vacuum out of the mechanical temp port before squirrel mentioned the hollow carb stud.
     
  13. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 3,841

    Budget36
    Member

    You could just put in a manual valve body, work the lever a bit when needed;)
     
  14. Is that an inline PCV valve after the brass T at carb, but before the T for the transmission and road draft tube hose?
     
  15. DOCTOR SATAN
    Joined: Mar 21, 2014
    Posts: 711

    DOCTOR SATAN
    Member
    from okc

    Second the manual valve body.....
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.