Register now to get rid of these ads!

'54 Corvette Nomad

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by WaldorfNomad, Jan 21, 2013.

1. WaldorfNomad

WaldorfNomad

I have been researching the '54 Corvette Nomad concept for over 20 years and have amassed a good collection of photographs and interviews with people associated with its design. If anyone has any information on the car or contact with anyone who has knowledge of the "Waldorf" Nomad, please contact me. I am particularly interested in any information on what may have happened to the car after 1955, information on the engine, 1st hand memories, and of course, any candid or unusual photos. I am also interested in information on the Nomad's sister car, the Corvair, details about the workings of the various floors in the Argonaut Building and the executive parking garage in the basement, and any details concerning the 1954 Motorama. I am working on a presentation for the July Chevrolet Nomad Association convention in Chicago. Thanks!

2. jesse1980

jesse1980

That's a different car. I would love to see what you come up with. I live 40 miles south of Chicago.

3. No information but I have always loved the look. HRP

[​IMG]

4. Didn't GM do an updated recreation several years ago for the Auto Show circuit?

5. wasn't it called a Corvair when it was a concept car? I was thinking that I read that somewhere.

The car itself may be stuck away in some wharehouse belonging to GM. I think that someone was making copies of the car a few years back or was going to do so.

6. I have photo's of the re-pops made in Oregon.

7. PB... You are partly right, the Corvair & the Waldorf Nomad were made from the '53/'54 Corvette platform. Intentions were to make 4 models of the Corvette. There was a company making the Waldorf Nomad a couple of years ago, don't know if thier still around though...

Attached Files:

8. I knew someone was making copies. Do they still make them???

9. arkiehotrods

arkiehotrods