Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs 53' Chevy 3600 rust rod pickup

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by mudsong, Aug 5, 2014.

1. mudsong

mudsong
    from Tucson, AZ
    1. A-D Truckers

I just got a 1953 Chevy 3600 pickup that I dragged out of the desert and got a bonded title for. I would like to get this truck back on the road. I don't plan on hauling anything, but would like to use it as a truck, and have fun with my kids building it and drivin around town. I like the trucks rough look and have no plans on painting it, yet.
    (I have the hood and front end body parts, just not in this picture, they are stacked in the garage)
    20140707_180704.jpeg
    This is my first build. Truck has no engine or tranny. I plan on getting a chevy small block 350. But I need a plan for the suspension and brake system as I will be getting to that first. Having a small budget and for the integrity of the vehicle I would like to keep as much of the original truck as possible, like the leaf-spring suspension. But from what I have read, upgrades like having disc brakes in the front can be important for safety. So, I would sacrifice the integrity of the truck for safety and driveability. In my research I haven't found a disc brake conversion kit or easy disc brake fit for the 3600. Does anybody know of a cheap way to put disc brakes/power steering on this truck while keeping the stock straight axle?
    20140707_180727.jpeg

If not I'm left with loosing my leaf springs and replacing the front straight axle with an IFS. But I would like the front and rear wheels to match, and because the 3600 gearing is pretty low, I would swap out the rear end too. (I know the S-10 chassis swap is popular but it doesn't interest me yet.)

So I have started to research how to swap the front and rear ends for a more modern system, and what vehicles I can mine for parts. I found some good information on donor cars for Advanced Design Trucks here: