Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects '52 Chevy 3100 Budget Build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by jrdamien, Oct 30, 2013.

1. jrdamien

jrdamien

It has begun. I've already got the feeling I am in way over my head but there's no turning back now. I've got a garage to rent until April '14, I have a frame, a body, a motor, and a bug up my ass to do something I've never done before.

I have no pics. I will be picking the frame up in 2 weekends. The first thing for me to do is clean the frame, prime and pain it. This is a budget build in the truest sense so I need advice as I go.

How do I clean the frame well and then what sort of paint can I use? I've read a lot of people doing Rustoleum Rusty Primer as a base and then black for the top coat. Any other advice on cleaning and painting?

2. VoodooTwin

VoodooTwin
    from Noo Yawk

For a budget build, I think I'd steam clean/power wash the chassis, scrape off all the loose paint, and hit it with POR15 or something similar. Rustoleum is fine too, just doesn't grip as well.

And yeah, you need to post pictures so we can watch! :)

3. jrdamien

jrdamien

There will be pictures galore. POR15 is pretty expensive compared to Rusto.

4. VoodooTwin

VoodooTwin
    from Noo Yawk

Agreed.

5. JunkYardGuy

JunkYardGuy

Take your time and clean the frame the best you can. I've used a wire wheel on my grinder and it worked out ok. Por 15 paint is the way to go , not cheap but its good stuff.

6. shadams

shadams

I have said it before, but if I could start over I would just do spray paint just like you said. It is cheap and although not as durable, a little spray touchup and it looks brand new. Try and get any mods/welding done first though...:eek: