Register now to get rid of these ads!

52 - 54 Ranch wagon - that's sad

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by OldCrow, Jul 10, 2012.

1. OldCrow

OldCrow

Wile I was out fly fishing with a buddy yesterday, I happened to notice that the bank of the creek had a retaining wall built from partially buried old cars. I'ts getting hard to ID many of them anymore, but when I noticed a "ranch wagon" fender emblem I had to take a closer look at that one. I'm no Ford expert, but from the online photos I found, I'm pretty sure this was a 52 or a 54. all I could see was the right side and a bit of the nose/grill. Unfortunately, even if someone wanted it, the earth firsters would never let it be moved because of it's location near the creek bank. Not much worth saving anyway. you might salvage the emblem ;). kinda sad seeing it wasting away like that however. how many were originally made?? can't be many of them left.

Russ

2. Ranch Wagon script is extremely hard to find,,even pitted it's worth a few bucks,,they can be saves. HRP

The script on top has been re-chromed.

[​IMG]

3. 49ratfink

49ratfink
    from California

you know what is really sad? this post has no pictures of the car in the riverbank

4. OldCrow

OldCrow

It's hard to wade a river, fly cast, and take photos at the same time. so I seldom have a camera with me ;) . If I go back to that spot I will, however, take a camera with me, and take multiple photos. Perhaps I'll take a crow bar also, and remove an emblem.

Russ

5. you can probably poll it off with your finger tips. HRP

6. 40StudeDude

40StudeDude

When that car was buried...there was no such thing as "earth-firsters"...it was, in all probability, put there to control erosion...and can you imagine what an uproar there would be from "earth-firsters' nowadays if someone wanted to bury cars in the creeks...???