Register now to get rid of these ads!

51 Ford Shoebox Trunk Help Request.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by grf-x, Oct 22, 2012.

1. grf-x

grf-x

Morning H.A.M.B.ers

I could really use some advice here. I am about to embark on my first major sheet metal surgery on my 1951 ford fordor. Yeah yeah I know... virgin. LOL

Talk about junk in the trunk... It amazes me the skills some people have with hiding bad sheet metal fill bonder/filler. So I have come to the conclusion that it ALL has to go.

I plan on replacing the complete trunk floor and tail pan with EMS sheet metal. I could rally use help with a plan of attack.

Few notes, I am a beginner at welding. I am using a flux core wire, because I have yet to make to jump to gas shielding. Other tools at my disposal... cheap bead roller and 36" sheet metal brake, power tools, and hand tools.

Below are the parts I plan on using. One thing I have notice. The perimeter flanges go up. In the factor sheet metal they go down. This make it a bit easier so I dont have to weld above me. I plan I butt welding the part together and spot welding the the floor the fenders and roll pan. Open to suggestions to that plan.

I am just not sure where to begin. I already have an alignment issue with the trunk lid. So I need to factor this in.

Do I start with the roll pan or the floors first?

Ford Spare tire wheel well
    [​IMG]

trunk floor (left and right) trunk floor extension
    [​IMG]

Full roll pan
    [​IMG]

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. grf-x

grf-x

I did ask the guy on the phone from EMS and all I got was start from the inside and work your way. He didn't seem to sure though. I wish I could remember his name.

3. Damn, I bet that metal cost a bundle :eek:. Good luck, and take photo's, lots of shoebox owners will be interested on how it go's.

4. buster6972

buster6972
    from Florida