Register now to get rid of these ads!

'50 merc axle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 2drmerc, Jul 18, 2010.

1. 2drmerc

2drmerc

borrowed quote from another thread

does anyone know if these axles can cope with the power of a 350 chev engine with a th350 trans

the reason i ask is because i have just purchased a '50 merc and there are some bits missing from the axle so i don't want to buy parts for a axle that will break

thanks

2. need louvers ?

need louvers ?

I have some experience with this one. If you are planning to drive the car reasonably you will do just fine. A steady diet of drag racing and neutral drops, probably not so good...

3. 2drmerc

2drmerc

thanks for the quick reply
    it would be nice to run the 1/4 now and then so does anyone know what axle would fit between the fender skirts

4. Deuce Roadster

Deuce Roadster
    Member Emeritus

I do not know HOW AVAILABLE a 57 to 72 F-100 rear end is in England ... but that's what most around here run. They even have the same wheel bolt pattern as your Mercury.

If hunting a F-100 rear ... try to get one from 1966 or so UP ... because they have self adjusting brake hardware.

And a lot of them were automatic ... so they have a 3.25 or 3.50 gear ratio :D :D

5. Stovebolt

Stovebolt

You won't break these axles - there are plenty of cars out here using a Dana 44 centre - look at all the Jag rears, and 'vette rears - they're all Dana 44's

One thing though - your ratio may not suit a T350 - might be 3.92 or 4.27 - so you might want to swap the crown wheel and pinion with a Jag or run a T700 overdrive

6. need louvers ?

need louvers ?

Very good point! One that I drove allot with this rear end was a Model A coupe with a powerglide - and 4.11 in rear! From phoenix to Austin TX. and back. To put this into perspective, 850 miles each way! Oh, and an average speed of about eighty! My only defense against the noise? My portable C.D. player went to 11!