Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 49 Pontiac transmission options

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Leroy 701, Jan 13, 2016.

1. Leroy 701

Leroy 701

I have a Silver Streak I have been driving for a few years, I pulled it out of a pasture where it sat since 1963 and got it running. It's been a great experience and a fun beater car but the time is coming to do some powertrain upgrading.

The car still has the original flathead 8 with a hydra matic. The motor and tranny work well and are unrebuilt. I went through everything else that you have to do when bringing an old car back to life. I was pleasantly surprised to see how the motor has held up these past few years, tranny works well also.
    The problem I'm having is that the car just isn't fast enough to maintain Hiway speeds. It feels like I'm pushing it to do more than 60-65. That is running about 3 grand on the tach and with such an old original motor it's just not what I want to run at. It really wants to run at 2500 which is about 55mph.
    Most of the time it's ok and I don't really mind it but there have been a couple of times when people have been tailgating me and making very dangerous passes on 2 lane road, just about taking everybody out in the process of making a stupid pass.
    It will soon be time for a v8, tranny and probably a rear end swap.
    I love Oldsmobile motors and have several good 60's v8's. It's been on my mind to use one of these. I think it would be cool to have a rocket in a Pontiac.
    The motors I'm thinking of are an early 70's 455 with a turbo 400 or a 63 394 with the tranny that came with that motor (jet away?)
    The 63 tranny doesn't have a very good reputation so I'm not feeling all that great about that.
    All of that to ask my question, would I be able to stay with the hydra matic with a v8? Possibly the 63 motor?
    I like the tranny and I know they are good in their own right but I'm unfamiliar with what they can be used with.