Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical '41 Ford COE Build - Need Advice

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by flatheadV-8, Aug 1, 2017.

1. flatheadV-8

flatheadV-8
    from New York

Need some advice. I currently own the cab body of a ’41 Ford COE and planning on doing a resto/mod pickup project. As my first build it needs to be a budget build, (shoestring budget that is). My biggest decision is deciding on what chassis I should mount the cab. I have been informed that an early 1950’s Chevy chassis with rear coil overs and suspension from a late model Camaro/Nova could be a good solution. My problem is that if there is any sort of welding involved, at this point, I feel uncomfortable doing as I have no experience welding and do not want to make my first welds on a chassis. So, in order to get this project started I am interested in opinions/advice on what I could use for a chassis set up, (again on a budget). In addition, any additional comments regarding my planned build are appreciated.

2. There is no easy/bolt together solution. These type projects take a lot of fab/welding to complete.
    Maybe learn to weld first? Or find a friend who will weld for beer....

3. flatheadV-8

flatheadV-8
    from New York

I am not necessarily looking for an easy solution, just some good suggestions. I like yours regarding a friend who will weld for beer.....I do know one. I am generally pretty mechanical and want to learn to weld. I am just not comfortable with learning to weld on a chassis that I will be driving. Plus I am sure it would be advantageous to have the chassis welded on a frame table to keep everything straight and true.

4. COCONUTS

COCONUTS

I would start on the bodywork required of the cab, while obtaining a 220 Mig welder and practice on the welding. Usually obtaining the services for beer, ends with a drunk friend who will screw up your project. You have to learn todo your own work or you will never be satisfied with the outcome.