Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 40'S Dodge truck front fenders

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Myergens, May 18, 2014.

1. Myergens

Myergens
    from Fargo

I wondered what the difference was between 1/2 ton and lets say 1 1/2 or 2 ton truck front fenders. I superimposed two photos and found this (see image). the back of the fenders is the sam but the larger truck (yellow) reaches way out beyond the 1/2 ton(red) . the blue line is my guess what would happen with a vertical chop to make 1/2 ton fenders out of larger ones. see the red and yellow wheel size and locations. front fenders comparo.jpg

2. I've never tried to compare pick-ups to the heavier trucks, but if the fenders are longer, the hood would have to match. My 1 1/2 ton hood is 33" measured along the side hinge.

3. 28-31

28-31

I'm still pretty new to the 1939-1947 Dodge "Job-Rated" trucks. I recently acquired a 1947 WF-32 1 1/2-Ton flatbed and starting doing research right away. As I understand it, the over-all dimensions of the fenders are the same for the smaller trucks versus the larger trucks (up through 1 1/2-Ton, anyway) -- but the wheel openings on the 1 1/2-Ton are larger, to accommodate the larger 20-inch wheels and tires.

Again, I'm still learning, so I could be wrong -- but it's my current understanding that the other sheet metal (the nose, hood, cab, doors, etc.) are all identical for the "smaller" and "larger" trucks (up through 1 1/2-Ton).

Some measurements (or an interchange manual) would answer it for sure, but that's what I think is true -- from research here and on the Yahoo Groups "Registry of 39-47 Dodge/Mopar Trucks".

If I find any specifics, I'll post an update.

==========

UPDATE - I dug through the info I collected from the 39-47 forum and found this reply to a question I asked about size differences between the "smaller" trucks and my 1.5 Ton WF-32: