Register now to get rid of these ads!

History 40-42Willys,US Navy Pick-ups?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by seesko, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Seems like I've read or seen pictures of gray 40's Willys Pick-ups (not jeeps)
    used by the Navy in WW2. Can anyone varifiy this?
    I've done searches and not found anything on this.

Thanks
    Mark

2. 62rebel

62rebel

you'll see them if you search Pearl Harbor or the Phillipines WW2 pictures, but as far as specifically getting a pic of a Willys by name, not so much. maybe search Naval Air Station and stateside Naval base pics from the period. keep in mind, they were work trucks and they worked hard for a living; only a few made it into civilian hands eventually. i HAVE seen them in pictures from WW2 but then again i studied History and have seen a LOT of reference material over the years!

3. careyohio

careyohio

My son has one. 1941 model. It was used at camp Perry here in Ohio and sold to a farmer Near Toledo. Has the tire size and air pressure stenciled on the lower side of the bed. Originally had a canvas ( covered wagon style ) cover over the bed but it got lost some where along the line.
    See my photo album .

4. Thanks for the info. I looked at the pic in your album C ohio. That's what I was looking for. Might have seen some in some movies too.

5. brigrat

brigrat
    from Wa.St.

Not to hijack this thread but to broaden it I went AWOL once (OK a couple 3 times, Marines) in the early '70 in Seattle, the Navy picked me up in a Anglia Thames Panel that was built specifically for transporting prisoners wire mesh and all , made my day! Navy Grey of course!