Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods 34 Chevy Master questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by 34ChevyMaster, Jun 17, 2021.

1. 34ChevyMaster

34ChevyMaster

I have a 34 Chevy Master 2 door with an after market auto trans/engine.
    The car is 99 percent complete and now I have decided it needs an ebrake. I want to put a floor handle brake with custom cables.
    My question is where in the heck can I put an ebrake handle?
    First I have reupholstered OE seats. Those fit extremely close and there is a cross member in the middle at that location.
    2nd I have an OE dash that has no replace to mount a handle nor would it hold the stress.
    Please if you don’t know anything specific to this car don’t bother to answer. It’s nothing like a 34 Ford. If you own one or know of them I would really appreciate the help.
    Thanks in advance

2. Look at a Jaguar xjs or Porsche 944 from the 80’s
    They had a handle that sat in the left side of the drivers seat and you would pull up the apply the parking brake and the. It would automatically drop down.

3. 34ChevyMaster

34ChevyMaster

There isn’t a 1/4” between the door and the seat when using the OE seats. Sooo that’s not going to work

4. Budget36

Budget36

Are you opposed to making a firewall to dash brace?
    Another question is where would you like the parking brake actuator to be. We’re they originally on the floor with a drum on the tranny?

5. 34ChevyMaster

34ChevyMaster

I have several braces on the firewall now. I was hoping not to add more and the more stuff hanging down. I have a Lokar auto shift on the floor which takes up space. it’s the parking brake actuator that is the problem. I have no room between the seats or on the sides.
    I was probably dreaming that someone found a way I didn’t think of.