Register now to get rid of these ads!

331 Ext Hemi W/ M21 Muncie Clutch Questions

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ksxr94, Jan 20, 2014.

1. ksxr94

ksxr94
    from NJ

Hey folks, I have my first real technical question for you guys out there….here goes:

I am building a 31 Dodge Sedan, putting in a 331 extended, industrial block hemi that came off of a generator in a factory and putting behind it an M21 Muncie. I already got the adapter plate from Hot Heads, but the question I have relates to the guts since I have no real experience with installing manual transmissions.

<O:p</O:pI have seen other posts regarding these blocks, but nothing that specifically says what parts to use for a manual trans.

<O:p</O:pWilcap gave me a couple particulars and said to call McLeod racing for parts and they gave me different particulars…I just want to know what will work well, and what others have done…no theories.

1. <O:p</O:pFlywheel - Can I use the original flywheel from the engine? It is 146 tooth, never been machined.<O:p</O:p
    2. Clutch/PP - What size clutch/pressure plate - Wilcap says 10-1/2”, McLeod says 11”:
      1. Clutch Disc
      2. Pressure Plate – Wilcap indicated using a Borg/Beck style, while McLeod recommended a diaphragm style that they make<O:p</O:p
    3. Hydraulic throw-out bearing – Wilcap indicated using a #1400-20, while McLeod recommended a #1300….McLeod says that the 1400-20 should only be used when the bell to fingers is greater than 3” (not sure of the measurement til I get the clutch/PP.<O:p</O:p
    <O:p</O:p
    I know both places are leaders in the industry but just want to make sure I get the right stuff from the start.

<O:p</O:pThanks,<O:p</O:p

2. 73RR

73RR

You must use the correct oem 146 t flywheel as it needs to engage the oem starter.
    The clutch diameter is your choice; the flywheel can be redrilled for whatever pressure plate style/diameter you use.