Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 331 Cadillac build question

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by ls1yj, Feb 19, 2017.

  1. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    I'm new to these engines, and have not disassembled or built any before. I've got the short block assembled, and am trying to get heads on, but have come across something I wanted to ask you guys here:

    '55 331 has hydraulic lifters, and I bought new set and dropped in block. I also ordered a set of Falcon pushrods for this year motor off eBay... I was in process of putting pushrods in, and noticed these don't have a hole in center of them... I'm just wanting to check and make sure I'm not screwing up, and gonna break something... here's a pic of pushrods:
    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  2. RichFox
    Joined: Dec 3, 2006
    Posts: 9,761

    RichFox
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Don't believe the Cad oils through the pushrods. hence, no need for a hole.
     
    ls1yj likes this.
  3. Cad like the Olds feeds oil up thru the rocker stands then thru the rocker shafts to each rocker arm I believe.
     
    Clay Belt, ls1yj and clunker like this.
  4. Those are the correct pushrods for a Cad...
    Did you tear the rocker arm assemblies apart? If so, be damn sure you're got them back together correctly!
     
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Richfox

    Thanks for reply.

    My second issue to overcome is the head bolts... I didn't get the originals with the engine, and I've been piecing them together... I've been buying ARP studs and bolts, but now an learning that 1 or all of the long bolts that hold rocker shaft assy down, are undercut to allow oil to flow into the rocker shafts.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  6. Are you going with a stock cam? What are you gonna use for an intake and carbs? This will be for your 33 coupe, so I am assuming no hood.
     
    ls1yj likes this.
  7. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Clunker,

    I bought the engine as an assembled short block, and guy said it had a slightly warmer than stock cam in it, but never gave me a can specs sheet. I was gonna degree it later when assembled to figure out lift and duration, to compare to stock.

    Yes, this is motor going in my 33. I found and bought an Edelbrock CD-694 4x2 intake for it... [​IMG]

    I'm planning on putting 4 Strombergs on it, at some point.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    duncan and clunker like this.
  8. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    But I'm on fence with this intake... I want to polish it and make it shine, but was told it will ruin value of it... may just try to find a 2x2 or 4v, and sell this one so I'm not tempted to ruin it...lol


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  9. cretin
    Joined: Oct 10, 2006
    Posts: 2,857

    cretin
    Member

    I'm not worried about polishing that intake. I'll trade ya for an edlebrock CD-693 3x2. :D
     
    ls1yj and Clay Belt like this.
  10. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

  11. Blown35
    Joined: May 20, 2008
    Posts: 203

    Blown35
    Member

    Caddy!.jpg
     
  12. cretin
    Joined: Oct 10, 2006
    Posts: 2,857

    cretin
    Member

    That one I can't help you with. I don't know where one of those are. I only have an Offy 2x2.
     
    duncan likes this.
  13. Hombre
    Joined: Aug 22, 2008
    Posts: 851

    Hombre
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Cretin, I think you misunderstood. He is not saying that if you have a Offy 3x2 he will trade you. He is saying he will trade you a Offy 3x2 for your 4x2 manifold.
     
  14. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Not lookin to trade, but I would be interested in an offy 3x2 if one popped up


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  15. cretin
    Joined: Oct 10, 2006
    Posts: 2,857

    cretin
    Member

    I understand just fine. I jokingly offered a trade I didn't expect him to take. Then he asked where he could get an offy 3x2 to which I replied that I didn't know and could only provide a 2x2. I didn't think we were setting up a trade.

    He is the one with a 4x2.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  16. 32Tudor396
    Joined: Sep 14, 2010
    Posts: 181

    32Tudor396
    Member

    I have a factory 2x4 and air cleaner like chrome one above if anyone's interested.

    Sent from my SM-G930W8 using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  17. It's valuable, but so what? Polish that sucker as you like, it will still be what it is, with 4 Strombergs it will be awesome.

    If you want to hold off, just grab a cheapy 2x2 repop for the time being, I'm sure a 3x2 will present itself soon enough.

    Keep us posted, I'm interested to see how it turns out. I rebuilt my 390 myself to stock. (Minus the boring), love that thing. When I get a model A, I'm planning on using another w/ T5.


    I'm confused as to who posted the mill with the Eldo dual quads and the polished batwing air cleaner, but that whole set up rocks, well done. (Blown35?)
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2017
    ls1yj and cretin like this.
  18. Blown35
    Joined: May 20, 2008
    Posts: 203

    Blown35
    Member

    [QUOTE="clunker, post: 11919963, member: 142481"
    I'm confused as to who posted the mill with the Eldo dual quads and the polished batwing air cleaner, but that whole set up rocks, well done. (Blown35?)[/QUOTE]

    Yes - That's my 39 Coupe with the '51 Cadillac / Eldorado Dual Quad set up - thanks - Blown 35
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
    ls1yj and clunker like this.
  19. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

  20. Dreddybear
    Joined: Mar 31, 2007
    Posts: 5,914

    Dreddybear
    Member

    I don't think polishing that intake will ruin the value as long as you leave the logo and numbers. I polished mine and people still try and buy it left and right. Just a note: They made two versions. You have the "Cold Series" with no heat risers. Watch out for the carbs icing up :)

    IMG_0493.JPG
     
    ls1yj, clunker and cretin like this.
  21. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    DreadyBear,
    Thanks for the tip... did you keep chokes on some of your carbs?




    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  22. 4wd1936
    Joined: Mar 16, 2009
    Posts: 789

    4wd1936
    Member
    from NY

    DreadyBear, That thing is just awesome and it says "hot rod" without a doubt. Thanks for posting the photo.
     
    ls1yj and Dreddybear like this.
  23. Dreddybear
    Joined: Mar 31, 2007
    Posts: 5,914

    Dreddybear
    Member

    No worries. No chokes. Just straight forward. :)
     
    ls1yj likes this.
  24. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Thanks vtwhead


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  25. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    War bird
    The rocker assemblies have been rebuilt, and I have checked their assembly against every picture I can find. All looks good there.



    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
    warbird1 likes this.
  26. cretin
    Joined: Oct 10, 2006
    Posts: 2,857

    cretin
    Member

    Mines a '55 also and its all apart. I'll go through my stuff and get you some photos and measurements.
     
  27. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    Cretin,

    Much appreciated


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  28. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

    DreadyBear,

    Did you chrome your exhaust manifolds? They look great!!! And shiny!! ;)


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
  29. cretin
    Joined: Oct 10, 2006
    Posts: 2,857

    cretin
    Member

    No problem.
    Since everything is apart, and I failed to label everything. I just grabbed the bolts I have, and measured them all to make sure you got what you need.
    I have a total of 34 bolts.

    [​IMG]

    16 that are 3 1/2" in length.
    These have an upper shank that is .25 in length with a diameter of .436, so call it 7/16".
    The lower shank is 2 1/2" in length, with a diameter of .388.
    Leaving a 3/4" long threaded section.

    [​IMG]

    10 that are 4 1/16" in length.
    These have an upper shank that is .25 in length with a diameter of .435, so call it 7/16".
    The lower shank is 2 11/16" in length, with a diameter of .387.
    Leaving just about a 1 1/8" long threaded section.

    [​IMG]

    And 8 that are 6" in length.
    These have an upper shank that is 2 1/2" in length with a diameter of .435, so call it 7/16".
    The lower shank is 2 1/16" in length, with a diameter of .388.
    Leaving a 1 1/16" long threaded section.

    [​IMG]

    Hopefully that helps you out.


    Sent from my iPhone using The H.A.M.B. mobile app
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
    ls1yj likes this.
  30. ls1yj
    Joined: Sep 14, 2011
    Posts: 476

    ls1yj
    Member
    from Kentucky

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.