Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical '31 5W electical problem, brake lights out

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by H-MAN, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. H-MAN
    Joined: Sep 16, 2008
    Posts: 7

    H-MAN
    Member
    from Raleigh NC

    My recently purchased '31 5W is experincing some electical issues. Brake lights, turn signals & radio won't operate while the engine, flathead 8BA, is running. Shutting the engine off and it all works fine. Start it up and they may work 1 out 10 times. The existing wiring is a bit of a mess with many connections made with only elec tape. Any ideas where to start? All the fuses are OK.
     
  2. i would start by rewiring it.
     
  3. F&J
    Joined: Apr 5, 2007
    Posts: 13,221

    F&J
    Member

    I agree. You won't know where every poor splice was made, unless you start over.

    If most of it was new looking, then it would be worth fixing. Sounds like you should redo it all. It most likely will be quicker, too.
     
  4. Harvey29
    Joined: Sep 29, 2010
    Posts: 176

    Harvey29
    Member
    from kansas

    I think I would try tracking down the root cause before rewiring a whole car and find the problem was a bad part and not a wiring fault.

    Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!
     

  5. I would track down each wire and check the guage to make sure the size is adequate for the draw on it. Make sure your connections are good and everything is fused properly.
     
  6. F-6Garagerat
    Joined: Apr 12, 2008
    Posts: 2,652

    F-6Garagerat
    Member

    Ignition switch for starters
     
  7. bgaro
    Joined: Sep 3, 2010
    Posts: 1,189

    bgaro
    Member

    where i'd start too.
     
  8. H-MAN
    Joined: Sep 16, 2008
    Posts: 7

    H-MAN
    Member
    from Raleigh NC

    Thanks. Should have mentioned that it's a 6-yr old build, so everything is pretty new. I followed the line from the generator to the fuse box, this morning, looks OK. The ignition has a lot of splicing coming off it. I'm going to go over all the ignition, rewiring the elec tape connections and anything else loose.
     
  9. H-MAN
    Joined: Sep 16, 2008
    Posts: 7

    H-MAN
    Member
    from Raleigh NC

    Ignition checks out. I did find the battery (in the trunk) is only grounded to the body. I was going to add a frame ground as well. Should I also add one onto the block?
     
  10. 325w
    Joined: Feb 18, 2008
    Posts: 5,765

    325w
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    Yes. Besides you can't over ground. Put the frame ground from battery to frame. Then frame to body. A third from engine block are bell housing near the starter to the frame.
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2021 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.