Register now to get rid of these ads!

3 days to hamb. i need help bad

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hotrod69, Aug 14, 2011.

  1. OldBuzzard
    Joined: Mar 8, 2008
    Posts: 878

    OldBuzzard

    Maybe it wants the old ones back. That opens up a whole new batch of possibilities.
     
  2. gafridge
    Joined: Oct 23, 2007
    Posts: 162

    gafridge
    Member

    Did it have an aluminum flywheel before?
     
  3. I ran into a similar problem with a dirt oval trak car, could not get it to "RPM".
    (great song) It turned out that the secondaries were not opening due to a binding link clip. Make sure your throttle will open all the way FROM the gas pedal. 9K, no problem, we ran 8,200 with a 327 on a dirt oval back in 1986 with mismatched parts and unbalanced crank. (rods and pistons were balanced) Powerglide using only first gear. (gear rule)
    Another note: check your fuel line near the bellhousing and trans, you may have flattened it or bent it when changing transmissions.
    2. Is it a race prepped carb with large needle and seats. ?
     
  4. 37gmc
    Joined: Aug 19, 2008
    Posts: 61

    37gmc
    Member
    from upstate ny

    stupid question, have you checked voltage supply to the distributor? brothers race car had a problem like that , finally found low voltage . only takes 1/2 ohm resistance in the wire
     
  5. davedriveschevy
    Joined: Mar 16, 2011
    Posts: 37

    davedriveschevy
    Member

  6. davedriveschevy
    Joined: Mar 16, 2011
    Posts: 37

    davedriveschevy
    Member

    Ha. 37gmc beat me to it.
     
  7. madmak95
    Joined: May 12, 2005
    Posts: 773

    madmak95
    Member

    Yes at first ..... but then went to a heavy one cause it lost all rpm off the line and bogged hard. Heavy fly wheel help alot. These 301 are all rpm ....little toque... the motor (when running right ) will remind u of a 2stroke. It really start to pull hard around 4500. Like its got a power band. See the problem. When the motor is ready to turn on it hits the wall.
     
  8. madmak95
    Joined: May 12, 2005
    Posts: 773

    madmak95
    Member

    Checked and rewirded this morning. No change.
     
  9. madmak95
    Joined: May 12, 2005
    Posts: 773

    madmak95
    Member

    old car....11.89 @ 118mph ....pulled 3 ft wheels...

    [​IMG]


    new car......pull the cross ram off and went to one carb....but it still runs the same... may put ram back on.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. hotrod69
    Joined: Dec 11, 2007
    Posts: 50

    hotrod69
    Member
    from warren tx

    latest thinking thanks to u folks is the timing chain an gears, they where changed between cars. i had forgotten about it. so no hamb run for the car this year. always next year. [ teach me to wate till the last min
     
  11. It may sound dumb, but check your throttle linkage. Make sure the carb goes all the way to WOT.

    I fought my flathead six on the dyno because of linkage, and didn't figure it out until A YEAR (!!!) later (mostly cuz I didn't run the motor again)
     
  12. Commish
    Joined: Jan 9, 2010
    Posts: 379

    Commish
    Member
    from NW Ok

    This is pretty simple and you may have already checked it, but it needs to be mentioned. Unhooked your throttle linkage, have a buddy mash the gas for you, and you open the throttle wide open manually, see it the linkage will hook back up to the carb in that condition, you would be surprised at how many I have found over the yrs. that were not adjusted right to fully open the throttle, or had a piece of floor mat under the pedal.

    Edit: posted my answer forgetting I was on the first page, see now it has been mentioned.
     
  13. hotrod69
    Joined: Dec 11, 2007
    Posts: 50

    hotrod69
    Member
    from warren tx

    thanks to all for your help. hotrod69
     
  14. We pulled a 305 yesturday that would never rev. It had an external balance flexplate attached to it. Amazing the stuff you find.

    Anyway removed the balance weight and now it'll spin until it comes apart. My only guess is that the balance weight was setting up a harmonic that was ultimately disturbing the valve train.

    Probably not your particular problem but . . .
     
  15. oj
    Joined: Jul 27, 2008
    Posts: 6,247

    oj
    Member

    You got plenty of time to do the timing chain! Grab some parts and load your mess up and go to the drags.
    One other thing i saw from your photo, is that fuel tank vented? If a poor vent or plugged vent what you are experiencing is exactly what will happen. It'll pull a vacuum in there and no fuel will come out.
     
  16. hotrod69
    Joined: Dec 11, 2007
    Posts: 50

    hotrod69
    Member
    from warren tx

    yes it is vented. first thing we looked at. just got in from the shop changing it. still got to put the rad in, reset the valves, an timing. then we will know. had to do it by my self, u know how it is with drivers. u cant get no help. haha
     
  17. zman
    Joined: Apr 2, 2001
    Posts: 16,555

    zman
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    from Garner, NC

    I'm rooting for ya...
     
  18. madmak95
    Joined: May 12, 2005
    Posts: 773

    madmak95
    Member

    Piss on u..... driveing don't pay the bills!! :rolleyes:
     
  19. hotrod69
    Joined: Dec 11, 2007
    Posts: 50

    hotrod69
    Member
    from warren tx

    lol, wondered if u could read
     
  20. I don't, my brother had a destroked 327 (301) that would turn 10,000 rpm with no sweat.
     
  21. hotrod69
    Joined: Dec 11, 2007
    Posts: 50

    hotrod69
    Member
    from warren tx

    well good or bad this hotrod is going to the hamb. timing chain an gears where the problem. now if we can keep it all togeather! looking forward to seeing every body.
     
  22. andyg
    Joined: Aug 10, 2007
    Posts: 560

    andyg
    Member

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.