Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 283 mild build

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by ubuybme, May 17, 2022.

1. ubuybme

ubuybme
    from Mn

Hello all, I'm new to the HAMB and also to building engines. Here is my questions, I have a 57 chevy 210 2 door sedan with the 235 inline 6. I'd like to remove that engine and put in a 1966 283 that I'm rebuilding. When I get the block/heads back (power pack heads) and start putting it back together i'd like to do a mild build, nothing crazy as it will be a family cruiser.. As I stated i'm new to this and here in lies my dilemma.... I have no idea what to do for a mild build. I'm assuming that would entail a cam, headers? I also purchased an edelbrock dual intake with twin edelbrock 600 carbs to go on it. The car currently has the factory 3 speed manual transmission and rear end.
    I've leaving the current transmission in if possible however i've heard i need to replace the bell housing on the transmission to accommodate the V8, is that correct? I was also told that a 55, 56, 57 V8 bell housing will fit if it's from a V8 from that era? I'm of course doing this on a budget and would like to leave it as original as possible if I can ie: transmission, drive shaft, rear end although any must dos would be greatly appreciated. If you're willing any info on what cam to put in, lifters, if transmission should be replaced etc. would be greatly appreciated. I'm sure i missed a bunch of things and thats why i'm here...to learn. Thanks!

winr and swade41 like this.