Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 235 intake ring necessary?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Medic4lifejr, Sep 4, 2017.

  1. Medic4lifejr
    Joined: Jun 30, 2016
    Posts: 49

    Medic4lifejr
    Member

    Found leak at intake manifold using carb cleaner. Man,i sprayed brake cleaner same exact area, wasted cans and never found a leak.
    Are the alignment rings necessary?
    I have re-tightened the manifold bolts and still have a leak. My manifold gasket is a felpro
     
  2. squirrel
    Joined: Sep 23, 2004
    Posts: 43,998

    squirrel
    Member

    I assume you are missing the rings, and think that might be the problem? It's job is to keep everything aligned, but it probably also helps seal just a little bit.

    Brake cleaner is not a fuel, but carb cleaner is. so it works better for finding vacuum leaks! :)
     
    loudbang and Medic4lifejr like this.
  3. Budget36
    Joined: Nov 29, 2014
    Posts: 2,594

    Budget36
    Member

    Manifold warped?
     
  4. RichFox
    Joined: Dec 3, 2006
    Posts: 9,819

    RichFox
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

    I bored some guys Edmunds intake for alignment rings. It came without them. You could see by the marks that he had bolted the intake on so low it leaked. With rings he had to get the holes lined up.
     
    loudbang and tractorguy like this.
    Register now to get rid of these ads!

  5. 302GMC
    Joined: Dec 15, 2005
    Posts: 5,850

    302GMC
    Member
    from Idaho

    How about that bakelite block under the carb ? They crack, warp, & leak between the manifold & bottom of the block from old age. I sand them flat & seal to the manifold with 3M weatherstrip cement.
     
    loudbang and Medic4lifejr like this.
  6. Medic4lifejr
    Joined: Jun 30, 2016
    Posts: 49

    Medic4lifejr
    Member

    I sprayed that area as well, I was only able to find leak at intake bolting to the head
     
  7. paleot
    Joined: Aug 29, 2011
    Posts: 217

    paleot
    Member
    from louisiana

    my old gmc 6 cyl leaked with two different gaskets when I put the rings in no more problems.
     
    loudbang, Medic4lifejr and squirrel like this.
  8. 270ci
    Joined: May 17, 2010
    Posts: 352

    270ci
    Member

    Yes....to do it right they're needed. But if you don't care about a fouled gasket, then leave em out. Since that heavy cast iron intake and exhaust HANG off the side of the engine and there's minimal gasket surface around those three small ports anyway, the rings are used for a darned good reason. Just no comparison to a V8 where the intake has a fighting chance to settle into and stay in a nice valley.
     
  9. NINE INCH
    Joined: Dec 26, 2005
    Posts: 1,020

    NINE INCH
    Member

    What 270ci said. Exactly.
     
    Truck64, loudbang and Medic4lifejr like this.
  10. Medic4lifejr
    Joined: Jun 30, 2016
    Posts: 49

    Medic4lifejr
    Member

    Ok thanks everyone i have ordered the rings. Attempted double gasket didnt work also added weatherstrip cement lol worked for a minute. So i have ordered the rings also after searching the forums also ordered remflex 2027 gasket.
     
    loudbang likes this.
  11. Medic4lifejr
    Joined: Jun 30, 2016
    Posts: 49

    Medic4lifejr
    Member

    Been a while you guys. After all repairs I still found vacuum leak at intake manifold by spraying starting fluid. I have intake manifold rings installed and remflex gasket. I'm thinking now maybe my manifold may be warped. Can a machine shop resurface intake manifold?
     
    loudbang likes this.
  12. gimpyshotrods
    Joined: May 20, 2009
    Posts: 16,418

    gimpyshotrods
    Member

    Yes.
     
    Medic4lifejr and loudbang like this.
  13. 302GMC
    Joined: Dec 15, 2005
    Posts: 5,850

    302GMC
    Member
    from Idaho

    Anyone who has a belt sander can surface a Chev 6 intake as long as all 3 ports are on the table.
     
  14. not that one guy
    Joined: Mar 28, 2011
    Posts: 276

    not that one guy
    Member
    from So NV

    I had a machinist resurface mine as an assembly

    Check your shop manual for assembly. I believe your suppose to torque in sequence including the heat box.

    Also if you dress it down you’ll have to take as much off your rings to avoid them holding out the manifold




    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Register now to get rid of these ads!

Archive

Copyright © 1995-2020 The Jalopy Journal: Steal our stuff, we'll kick your teeth in. Terms of Service. Privacy Policy.

Atomic Industry
Forum software by XenForo™ ©2010-2014 XenForo Ltd.