Register now to get rid of these ads!

226 in A frame?

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by PCD2GTHR, Aug 5, 2012.

1. PCD2GTHR

PCD2GTHR

New to the forum, see introduction http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t=722936 , and while not new to playing with cars, I am new to the rod building thing. You guys have provided me with much information and inpsiration before I even joined.

My question...does anybody have/know anybody that has/or have pictures of a 226 Flathead ('49 with toploader) in a Model A frame? I'm thinking of using it as a temporary mill until I get my 8ba going. The plan now is to make my own motor mounts and hopefully use a cross member out of an F1 and trim it down to use the pedals. (Trying to get cross member and pedals from the guy I bought the motor/trans from as he is doing a 302/T5 swap.)

Also, I have a '49 Shoebox I'll be using parts from. Would that rearend be a good candidate to go behind the 226?

I would love to find out some more info/tips, especially pictures. Any info would be appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  2. PCD2GTHR

PCD2GTHR

3. ArtGeco

ArtGeco
    from Miami

Sorry can't help but are you from the Outer Banks?

4. Dale Fairfax

Dale Fairfax
    Member Emeritus

You want to install an engine that is significantly longer than the V-8 as a "temporary" until the V-8 is done? To me that doesn't sound too logical. First of all, I don't believe the 226 will even fit into the "A" without some major mods to either the body or the frame (I'm thinking frame/wheelbase extension). If you go to that much trouble, why not make the 226 the permanent engine and have something unique? The V-8 will go in the space that the original 4 cyl came out of without much trouble-it's done all the time..

5. Ted H

Ted H

There is a HAMB member from the Spokane, Wa area who has a Model A roadster with a 226 in it.

I can't remember his HAMB name but you can probably get his contact info from HAMBer Chris.