Register now to get rid of these ads!

21 Stud Flathead ???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by sauces62, Jun 26, 2008.

1. sauces62

sauces62
    from n.cal

Im new to the flat seen so go easy. Im building a 36 ford pickup and I wanted the flathead mainly for the look"BAD ASS".. A fellow hamber told me about a guy near here had a couple. Well I jumped on it. I picked up a 21 stud,aluminum heads,alum. intake..and a 59ab. Cast. the 21 studs water pumps are on the heads which i kinda thinks cool but my question is... is it worth rebuilding and can I find hop up parts. 59's and 8's are all over but I cant seem to find 21 stuff. Should i just build the 59

A36fordcoolguy likes this.
  2. jetmek

jetmek

sell the early engine to a restorer

3. Dale Fairfax

Dale Fairfax
    Member Emeritus

Unless you're REALLY dedicated to originality (And it hardly sounds that way) don't bother persuing that early style 21 studder. You've already found that there's not much available (although intakes and headers fit everything from '32-'48) for one. You might find a set of heads but they'd likely be for the '37 engine which had the pumps in the block. In addition, you'd be starting at only 221" vs. 239" in the 59A. By 1948, the hodrodders had pretty much abandoned the old motors

4. Good advice...not much available for a 21 stud....

5. jonnyzepp

jonnyzepp

I went through this same exploration last year before deciding on a 59AB for my 37 Ford slantback. You will find more speed stuff available for them and you should be able to get more horsepower out of it. Let a restorer buy the 21 stud. I traded mine for a good 59AB block. Building a flathead isn't cheap and building a 21 stud would be more expensive due to less available parts. Do a 59AB, I think you'll be a lot happier in the end.

6. Roothawg

Roothawg

I'm building a 21 stud, but I have all of it already. Aluminum heads, 3 97's on an old aluminum intake. But I am hard headed most of the time.