Register now to get rid of these ads!

1961 Chevy Front Suspension Rebuild

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Gamesta, Nov 13, 2011.

1. Gamesta

Gamesta
    from SoCal

Hi all.

I've been collecting new front suspension parts for my 1961 Bel Air for a few months. I finally have them all and I'm going to install them all.

My biggest question is the proper order. All of the tasks are fairly simple but I just to want to know a good order. Here is a general list of the things I'm replacing:

• Power steering gear box
    • Power steering control valve
    • Power steering Pump
    • Power steering hoses
    • Front-end poly bushings (all of them)
    • Upper and lower ball joints
    • Inner and outer tie rod ends and adjusting sleves
    • Idler arm
    • upper and lower rubber bump stops
    • New front coil springs
    • New front shocks

I plan to do the power steering as a separate project if that is possible.

Thanks!

2. daddio211

daddio211

I would start by pulling the driver's side wheel, brakes, spindle, spring, ball joints, then A-arms. Put it all back together one piece at at a time with new components, reversing the process.

Don't take the passenger side apart until the driver's side is done. That way if you get lost and need to compare, you'll have the stock components to compare it to.

Then tackle the left over parts like tie rods and steering components. If you've never tackled this before plan for two full days or so, and get someone with experience to help you.

3. Andy

Andy