Register now to get rid of these ads!

1956 Cadillac Engine???

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by fiftyv8, May 13, 2010.

1. fiftyv8

fiftyv8
    from CO & WA

I have been offered a 1956 Cadillac engine for $600.
    I am told it will run and has 50,000 miles on it.
    I figure it could make a nice hot rod engine but I have no knowledge of these engines.

Is it worth the money and are they a useable hot rod engine.
    It has no tranny so what tranny will work behind it???

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
    I have not seen it in the flesh yet, so your comments will help me decide if it is worth seeing.

Many thanks, Russ.

Last edited: May 13, 2010
  2. povertyflats

povertyflats
    from Missouri

This is the 365 cubic inch Caddy engine and they are nice looking. Look the same as a 390 externally. I sold one for $1250 and the guy drove here from British Columbia to pick it up. I think it was a 1300 mile trip one way for him. It was not rebuilt but was a low miles like yours with tranny. You can buy or build adapters for other trannys. I would say yours is a real good buy.

3. fiftyv8

fiftyv8
    from CO & WA

Thanks Paul, you got me interested now.
    Id still like to hear from anybody regarding tranny options...

4. povertyflats

povertyflats
    from Missouri

5. Easiest (bolt-up) would be a slant pan or dual coupling Hydramatic, the later one uses a short iron bell to bolt the block and '56 was the changeover year from one to the other.

There probably is a factory manual bell but it would be very scarce. Cadillac didn't make the Hydra-matic standard until 1953 and it appears the Series 75 could be had with a manual trans through 1954 - Series 75 would be the large limo/hearse chassis - so assuming the bell pattern is the same from '49-'56, that would be the source to run the manual trans behind your motor.