Register now to get rid of these ads!

1953 Chevy 210 235 fuel problems

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by JSanford1974, Aug 2, 2010.

1. JSanford1974

JSanford1974

I'm new at this, and I have searched.

I'm trying to get fuel to my carb on my 235. I bought a new fuel pump, and I still can't get fuel to the carb. If you compress the new pump, you can get pressure into the inlet side. So the pump seems to be working. What drives the fuel pump inside the motor? Can this part be broken?

I tried starting the motor with a fuel line directly from the fuel pump into a gas can. I still couldn't get fuel into the line. I can get the motor to run if I poor gas into the carb. Since I can't get fuel, I'm thinking about putting a small 1-5 psi electric pump on it and be done with it.

Any help?

2. Fortyfordguy

Fortyfordguy

We just went thru some of this on my wife's 57 Chev with the 235 six. Turns out the little sintered bronze filter on the inlet of the carb had become clogged up. You can't see this filter until you remove the gas line to the carb inlet fitting. The filter sits inside the inlet fitting with a little spring and washer. If your carb has this filter, remove it and try to blow air thru it (yep...I wiped it off and used my mouth...). You couldnt blow ANYTHING thru our dirty filter. As a test, we reconnected the gas line and she started right up and ran like a top. Bought a new filter at the local parts house and all is good. We had already replaced the fuel pump, which was kind of old and nasty looking, but it wasnt really the problem. A test with a vacuum gauge/fuel pressure gauge willl also tell you if the pump is working correctly. Let us know what you find.

3. JSanford1974

JSanford1974