Register now to get rid of these ads!

1950 olds 88 hydramatic trans.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by teufelhund, Feb 12, 2012.

1. teufelhund

teufelhund

I have a 1950 oldsmobile that runs fine for about 5 minutes but after that it doesn't want to shift into 2nd. I don't know why this is happening! It drove fine and all of the sudden after parking for class i got in to drive home and it started this issue. I have done everything I can think of which isn't much since I'm not a mechanic. I'm lost and my wife wants to light the car on fire. i need to get it fixed! any help is welcome!

2. F&J

F&J

If nobody answers first, i can look in a manual for trouble shooting,... in the AM when i go to the shop.

3. Dave50

Dave50

Did you check the fluid? Does it have any leaks

4. teufelhund

teufelhund

fluids good, it does have a small leak but i check it everyday. I am lost right now, checking the manual would be awesome!

5. My manual says it coud be the governor.

6. Babyearl

Babyearl

The governor is more than likley the problem,, or fluid level.

7. gtoeasy64

gtoeasy64

The first thing I would do is check the adjustment on the transmission throttle lever, the long lever that goes from the throttle linkage to the transmission. Disconnect that lever from the lever that comes out of the trans. by disconnecting the clevis pin at the trans end of the lever. Hold the lever that comes out of the trans the whole way back, towards the back of the car, and readjust the clevis pin so the pin fits freely through the hole on the trans. lever, then drive it to see is that helped...

8. gtoeasy64

gtoeasy64

Here is what the motor manual says is it slips in or misses 2nd gear.............
    1. front unit coupling cover seals leaking.
    2. front unit coupling cover exhaust valves sticking or missing.
    3.front unit coupling cover feed restriction or leak.
    4. front unit coupling cover signal restriction or leak.
    5. low oil pressure.