Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 1950 Dodge Wayfarer lowering

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by Kon-Hemsby, Feb 5, 2015.

1. Kon-Hemsby

Kon-Hemsby

Hi, I'm a newbie to this board, and I'd like some advise.
    I have recently purchased a stock 1950 Dodge Wayfarer. It looks to be in solid original condition.
    I indeed to keep the straight 6, 6v system for the moment.
    I want to lower the car, but still be able to use it without tyres scrapping, or speed bumps hitting the sump. Would you recommend shorter springs and lowering blocks for a lower but usable look, or should I look to airbag it? Would the airbags would on 6V and if so, what would the ride quality be like?

Cheers

2. vwdave30

vwdave30

I would do springs and blocks. get it sitting like ya want and it will look good. To me it just seems like there is too much stuff to break with airbags lines leaking, compressor going out ect... plus when they lay flat on the ground they look like a broke ass minitruck

1952B3b23 likes this.
  3. Todd's Rod's

Todd's Rod's
    from MInnesota

sub frame the front end with a GM front suspension the last one I did I used a nova unit. remove your front sheet metal set your front ride height and weld in the sub frame, pay attention to the scrub line. Installing a sub frame solves a bunch of problems like engine install, brakes steering handling etc. The old Dodge suspension leaves a lot to be desired and upgrade parts are expensive. On the rear install new spring bushings and use blocks and new u-bolts to lower the rear end, a ford maverick/mustang rear end is almost a bolt in on these early dodges

4. My 50 Desoto has 1 1/2 coils cut out of the front and nothing in the rear. I had 2" blocks but the rear tires rubbed. I refreshed my front end with new shocks, tie rod ends, etc and it handles just fine. These aren't high performance cars. desoto110114.jpg

2many projects and 302GMC like this.