Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1939 Pontiac 2 Door Sedan Build

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Jeremy Morrison, Feb 18, 2017.

1. Jeremy Morrison

Jeremy Morrison

Hello all, I have been slacking to post my 39 Pontiac from when I got it to what I've done so far. Mostly life and lack of time gets in the way. Thought I would share some photos and my ideas, then see what everyone has for advice/suggestions as I go as this is my first build.[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

Those are some pictures from the past year of the little work I have gotten done. I guess that's what is to be expected when having sold a house, bought a house, and moved in between temporarily have the car stored at a buddies for a couple months.

The car runs great, and will move under its own power. It is 98% complete, and I have extras of many parts. A part of me wants to leave it original as the old flathead 6 is such a cool motor, however is very under powered and unreliable. I picked up a pontiac 400 to put in it, but haven't got myself to the point of taking out the old motor yet. So I have been picking away at the body as I enjoy doing bodywork, and know exactly how I want it. Biggest thing is the deep rust pits, and the rear panel below the trunk is roached, so saving to get a new panel to weld in. The rear fenders are as well reached, mainly where they mount to the body, which is pretty normal from all I have seen. So I will have to get creative or find replacements/used ones which is tuff for the old pontiacs.