Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects 1938 caddy full mod

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by my47buicksuper, Feb 13, 2019.

1. my47buicksuper

my47buicksuper
    from sunny fl.

Hey guys I started on this caddy and wasn't sure what I wanted! But I have a vision and it's coming along now so this will be a slow going project as I just had a child and I don't get much time in the garage much anymore but I'll get it done !
    So it's a 1938 caddy 4 door .
    The goal is Chevy 305 700r4 ,air ride , stretch the front doors get rid of the rears and a 3 " chop . There's other little things here and there but we will see how we do ! I usally just restore cars this is my first time doing this !
    So I've been cutting and cutting a tac here and there to hold things as I determine if I'm happy or not . So I'll let the pictures show what we have so far . KIMG0424.JPG KIMG0425.JPG KIMG0426.JPG KIMG0427.JPG KIMG0428.JPG KIMG0432.JPG

2. my47buicksuper

my47buicksuper
    from sunny fl.

Scan0005.jpg
    So this is basically what I'm going for with the fender mounted spares.

3. my47buicksuper

my47buicksuper
    from sunny fl.

KIMG0834_01.JPG KIMG0835_01.JPG KIMG0840.JPG KIMG0844.JPG
    So I started by removing the top of the center post (I'll use it later to patch the roof line) then I removed 7 1/4 " out of the rear door.(again save this piece to add to the front door!) Finally moved the center post back 7 1/4 to accommodate front door once it's done ! I didn't weld rear door section up yet as I'm not done removing metal from it yet .

AChopped1950ford and tb33anda3rd like this.
  4. my47buicksuper

my47buicksuper
    from sunny fl.

KIMG0851.JPG KIMG0853.JPG KIMG0854.JPG KIMG0856.JPG KIMG0857.JPG KIMG0859.JPG
    Ok so I got the roof marked out for a 3" chop fairly straightforward.... A few cut off wheels later and we have a chop !
    KIMG0858.JPG