Register now to get rid of these ads!

1936 chevy steering box. A little help please

Discussion in 'Traditional Customs' started by 61stude, Jan 17, 2015.

1. 61stude

61stude

I have a '36 chevy master sedan and I need to rebuild the steering box. It has tons of play. I can't find any kits or replacement parts. I'm trying to figure what to do. The car is using a speedway straight axle and I was planning on using traditional steering.

So does anyone make rebuild kits for these? If I have to go with something else, then what is a good/decently priced box to use?

Any advice or help is appreciated.

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

2. woodiewagon46

woodiewagon46
    from New York

stude, there is a company that advertises in the A.A.C.A. magazine called Lares Corp., www.larescorp.com. All they do is steering components, they might be able to help.

3. 61stude

61stude

Thanks woodie. I sent them a message. Hopefully they can help. Working on oddball stuff leads to problems sometimes.

Posted using the Full Custom H.A.M.B. App!

4. ken1939

ken1939

Register now to get rid of these ads!

5. uncleandy 65

uncleandy 65

Hi, I rebuilt a 1938Chevy steering box back in the 80"s and it still was bad. Had a 6" dropped axle on it and you didn't steer it you aimed it. It was really bad when you got in some ruts on the road. On my 1934 Chevy I just built I used Heidts super ride with rack & pinion, expensive but well worth the money.

6. Torkwrench

Torkwrench

If you change steering boxes, look into a 55 - 59 Chevy / GMC pickup. It worked well in my 34 Chevy coupe, and rebuild parts are available and it's traditional. In addition, 58 -60 Impala steering wheels bolt right onto them. Yeah.....I'm using a 59 Impala steering wheel in my 34.

7. Joe H

Joe H