Register now to get rid of these ads!

1931 Model A frnt axle

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by abefromen, Mar 27, 2013.

1. abefromen

abefromen

I'm new to early Fords and want to know more about this car. Is this a stock front axle on this '31 that has disc brakes added?

Attached Files:

• 011.jpg
      011.jpg
      File size:
      542 KB
      Views:
  2. mastergun1980

mastergun1980
    from Alva OK

I would say it looks more like a 33-36 front axle...but I could be wrong

3. Carter

Carter

Looks to be a 47-8 axle and wishbone. Best I can tell from that picture.

4. chubbie

chubbie

tough to see Abe, but it doesnt look like a "A" axle to me. looks more like '40- maybe 48. yes the disk were added. Get us a better picture and get some measurements

5. abefromen

abefromen

Unfortunately that's the only pic I have. It's a car I may be doing a trade for but want to know more about the front end. It sits real high and wide.....not to mention the radiator doesnt fit the shell,lol.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2013
  6. abefromen

abefromen

7. Carter

Carter

I am almost certain that is a 47-8 axle and wishbone. The spindles are either 37-41 or 42-8 (most likely). It appears to have a cross steer box of some type. I'd guess the radiator was not meant for that shell either.

8. Mr T body

Mr T body
    Alliance Vendor
    from BHC AZ

Don't know what it IS, but know what it isn't. Not a '31 as they didn't have tube shocks, or mounting provisions like that for them.

9. 117harv

117harv

48 is the only year with the shock mount hole and smaller recess in the end?

10. flatford39

flatford39