Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical 1930 Ford headlights

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by ryanhewitt, Jun 28, 2017.

1. ryanhewitt

ryanhewitt
    from Vegas NV

New to the Hamb, and got a question. I'm looking at buying some 1930 Ford headlights and would like some info on what to look for. Should the glass AND buckets have the Ford script? Would these be steel or stainless steel? These may be common knowledge questions, but I'm new to the game.

Thanks in advance,

Ryan

2. Hotrodmyk

Hotrodmyk
    ALLIANCE MEMBER
    1. Northwest HAMBers

Buckets will be stainless and stamped "script & TWOLITE HEADLIGHT" Lens will have script too.

3. Buckets will be stainless unless they came originally on a truck in which case they will be regular steel. The '28-'29 buckets were nickel plated (or painted black on trucks) and more pointed. The lens will be flat (beginning in 1932 the lenses were curved) There will be an adjustment screw in the center of the back of the bucket (there was no screw beginning in 1932). You didn't ask but I would get the reflectors from Bratton's Ford Parts, (301) 829-9880 (they are the best) and 12 volt bulbs from Ron Francis Wire Works, https://www.ronfrancis.com, (800) 292-1940. Try to use original sockets but if you must buy repros go to A&L Parts Specialties, (860) 693-0112. You should put your general location in your profile, you can never tell when it will come in handy to someone.

Charlie Stephens

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 28, 2017
    lurker mick likes this.
  4. sloppy jalopies

sloppy jalopies

'28-'29s cars were plated and shaped like 1/2 a football, early '28s had fluted lenses [vertical grooves].
    sharper forward edges on the plated bezels...
    '30-'31s cars were stainless and shaped like 1/2 a basketball, same lenses from mid '28 to '31... rounded forward edges on the stainless bezel...
    both series trucks had black painted steel buckets ...