Register now to get rid of these ads!

History A Fuel Coupes - Don Montgomery '32 3w

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by KKrod, Mar 31, 2014.

1. 296ardun

296ardun

Here is the coupe when Larry owned it:

[​IMG]

2. Rockerhead

Rockerhead
    Member Emeritus

Interestingly I was a rocket test engineer for Aerojet, in Azusa, while I was running the '32 coupe. As with most of the guys I was trying Nitromethane. Starting with about 10% I slowly worked up to 50%. Others were ahead of me going up to 90% or so while others were trying things like hydrazine, etc. A lot of guys burned up or exploded engines during the learning process. I was apparently too timid to chance breaking my engine.
    Aerojet was developing a Nitromethane fueled rocket at the time. However it blew up and destroyed the concrete test bay when the detonation traveled back up the fuel lines. When the engineers and mechanics I worked with found out that I was taking 5 gal. cans of Nitro out to the drags and even using it; they thought I was crazy. Today we understand the Nitro better than we did then. We knew it was only a solvent.
    At Aerojet we started rocket engines with UDMH (hydrazine). Toss it in with nitric acid and it ignited without the need for a starting devise.
    Thanks for your question. I actually enjoy looking back at some great times.
    Don

3. KKrod

KKrod

Going from Oklahoma to Texas.

Attached Files:

4. KKrod

KKrod

Don and Larry Shinoda shared some of their pictures with me. I especially like the one on the lakes with Larry and Don and the car.

Attached Files:

Nailhead A-V8 and kidcampbell71 like this.
  5. KKrod

KKrod

The restored car at the 2009 GNRS. Restored by Dave Crouse.

Attached Files:

6. KKrod

KKrod

Race cars always evolved. It is restored to the 1953 version when Larry Shinoda raced it.
    Karl

hotrod fever and kidcampbell71 like this.
  7. Rockerhead

Rockerhead
    Member Emeritus