Register now to get rid of these ads!

Projects COE build thread - "Git r' done"

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by kscarguy, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kscarguy

kscarguy

I'm starting to look for a reasonably priced Kenwood or Pioneer.

2. daddio211

daddio211

Good call. The others you listed aren't known to be quality units. I've been super busy with work recently and haven't been on here much, but take a look at www.crutchfield.com for some deck ideas. I have some experience and would be happy to narrow some choices down for you. Just PM me.

My '27 T Roadster build: www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/showthread.php?t= 734383

3. Crutchfield x2, although I wanna see what their fitment guide says when you tell it 1941 Ford COE!!

A Jetta stock unit is a double din.

4. fordsbyjay

fordsbyjay
    from Lafayette

Is there not enough room for a double din? I have never owned a single pop out screen unit because I always felt they must vibrate like crazy not to mention being worried about moving parts failure.

5. kscarguy

kscarguy

No room for a double DIN with the a/c unit mounted behind the dash. Even if it fit, the angle would be bad. I can just fit a Single Din in there above the ductwork and with the adjustable angle of the screen, I can get a better viewing angle.

Pioneer units cost $400+ and the add-on Navigation unit is over $300. Too rich for my blood. Even a new Clarion is $700

Crutchfield has a nice new Jensen unit for $279. Part number VM9216BT . It gets good reviews, but it is a bit boring looking. However for a decent quality at a low price, it seems like the best choice. The add-on Navigation unit is an additional $160 or more. One big downside is it does not have a slot for a memory card, so I can't store my music on it. At least it does have slot for a thumb drive.

Crutchfield said that even if I install it, that will not void the warranty. Good to know.